MOHAWK VALLEY LIBRARY SYSTEM

ANNUAL MEETING

Holiday Inn Express Schoharie, New York **May 12, 2010**

MVLS Trustees: Margaret Carballeira, Elizabeth Cleary, Patrcia Franco,

Barbara Germain, Marion Grimes, Colleen Izzo, Robin

Kappler, Dusty Putnam

MVLS Staff: Valerie Catlin, Carol Clingan, Terri Flower, Lois Gordon, Kathy

Insero, Sharon O'Brien, Sue Rokos, Maria Tse

Joint Automation Staff: Mary Hanley

Guests: Linda Burns; Barry Finley; Teresa Finley; Assemblyman Peter

Lopez

Library Trustees, Library Directors and Staff, and Friends

Fulton County

Gloversville Sherri Gennett, Keith Johnson, Barbara Madonna, Christine

Pesses

Johnstown James Cleary, Barbara Germain, Amy Praught, John David

Praught, Denise Walsh, Thomas Walsh

Northville Michael Burnett, Colleen Izzo

Montgomery County

Amsterdam Jane Getty, Robin Kappler, Nicole Hemsley

Canajoharie Leah LaFera

Fort Hunter Norma Jean Bennett, Cindy Rivera, Tina Shave, Sue

Summerfield

Fort Plain Eileen Chambers, Catherine Clinton, Laura Flynn

Fonda Alice Hinkle, Gloria Kimball, Sherri Kirschman

St. Johnsville Sharon Fuller, Dawn Lamphere, Marta Zimmerman

Schenectady County Wonja Brucker, Leah Leonard, Janice Martin, Esther Swanker,

Harold Wusterbarth, Junice Wusterbarth, Gloria Zampini

Schoharie County

Cobleskill Lisa Breitbach, Christine Dickerson

Middleburgh Sarah Beekman, Vicki DeGroff, Ken DeGroff, Anne LaMont,

Teresa Pavoldi, Hilary Virgil

Schoharie Meg Berdan, Tatiana Boba, Cathy Caiazzo, Jody DeJong,

Emily Henry, Deborah Paden, Arlene Price, Laura Rosenthal,

Carl Stefanik

Sharon Springs Susan Rorick, Mary Ellen Wolfe

The fifty-first annual meeting of the Mohawk Valley Library System was held at the Holiday Inn Express in Schoharie.

Carol Clingan, Director, welcomed all and introduced Michael Burnett, Chair of the MVLS Directors' Council who acknowledged member library directors from each library.

Carol Clingan introduced the MVLS staff and Mary Hanley from the Joint Automation Project staff.

Sue Rokos, Assistant Director and Children and Young Adult Specialist demonstrated the online Summer Reading Program web page "Make a Splash, READ!

Betty Cleary, President of the MVLS Board, introduced special guests Assemblyman Peter Lopez, and his assistant Tatiana Boba, who is a member of the Schoharie Library Board of Trustees.

Betty Cleary noted that all 14 libraries were in attendance and recognized their trustees. She introduced the members of the Mohawk Valley Library System Board.

Carol Clingan presented staff recognition awards to staff members Kathy Insero and Maria Tse. Both have worked at MVLS for ten years.

Business Meeting:

MVLS Board President Betty Cleary called the annual meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Minutes from the May 2009 meeting were on the tables. Robin Kappler moved, Colleen Izzo, seconded, approval and the motion passed.

Betty Cleary spoke about former MVLS Board President Anne Campbell, who passed away last May. Anne represented Schoharie County on the MVLS Board for six years, serving three terms as board president and working on several system committees.

Betty recognized Harriet Berard, Carol Raphael, and Harold Wusterbarth, who had resigned from the board this year thanking them for their service to Mohawk Valley.

She called for the report of the Nominating Committee:

Margaret Carballeira, Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented nominations for the following seats on the MVLS Board: Sarah Beekman, representing Schoharie County; Patricia Franco representing Fulton County; Barbara Germain, representing the Directors' Council; Jean Wildegrube, representing Schenectady County.

Betty asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, she asked Secretary Patty Franco to cast a single ballot for the slate.

Betty thanked Dusty Putnam for her service as MVLS Trustee representing Schoharie County.

Betty recognized Barbara Germain, Chair of the Awards Committee, to introduce the annual MVLS Awards.

Barbara thanked the Awards Committee, Marion Grimes and Patricia Franco, for their work on this year's awards and thanked those who placed nominations this year. She described the Trustees' Award and Library Recognition Award history and requirements. She introduced Carol Clingan to present the Trustees' Award.

Harold Wusterbarth from the Schenectady County Public Library received the 2010 Trustees Award. Harold was honored for his service as a trustee of both the Schenectady County Public Library and the Mohawk Valley Library System, serving as long time treasurer of both. Harold was instrumental in the establishment of the Joint Automation Project, making participation affordable to all sized libraries. He is also an active advocate for libraries locally and statewide. He received \$200 for the library, a framed certificate and citation. Assemblyman Peter Lopez presented him with a certificate from the New York State Assembly.

Barbara presented the 2010 Library Recognition Award to the Gloversville Library for the BiblioManiacs Teen Summer Reading Program, citing their success in bringing young readers together on their own terms. Sherry Gennett and Barbara Madonna accepted for the library. The library was awarded \$500, a framed certificate and citation, as well as a certificate from Assemblyman Peter Lopez.

The evening ended with the fifth annual Library Trivia contest hosted by Michael Burnett and assisted by Sharon O'Brien and Sue Rokos. Happy winners received books by answering questions based upon characters of books.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Patricia Franco, Secretary