MOHAWK VALLEY LIBRARY SYSTEM ANNUAL MEETING

River Stone Manor Glenville, New York May 21, 2014

MVLS Trustees:	Gordon Beebe, Sarah Beekman, Jane Borrelli, Elizabeth Cleary, Cheryl Cufari, Mary France, Marion Grimes, Bonnie Kerr, Barbara Madonna, Deb Wyngowski
MVLS Staff:	Valerie Catlin, Lois Gordon, Kathy Insero, Sally Rappa, Sue Rokos, Joe Sherry, Eric Trahan
Joint Automation Staff:	Mary Hanley, Diane Robinson
<u>Guests</u> :	Ron Barrows, Tatiana Boba, Julia Caro, Carol Clingan, Barry Finley, Teresa Finley, Terri Flower, Kathryn McCary, Angelo Santabarbara, Phil Steck, Esther Swanker

Library Trustees, Library Directors and Staff, and Friends

Fulton County

Gloversville	Lance Gunderson, Donna Kuhner, Peter Kuhner, Christine Pesses
Johnstown	James Cleary
Montgomery County	
Amsterdam	Kim Beebe, Katie Capel, Nicole Hemsley
Fort Hunter	Norma Jean Bennett, Charlene Fonda
Fort Plain	Paige Young
Fonda	Linda Bell, Charlene Fonda, Sherri Kirschman, Penny Pollock
Schenectady County	Karen Bradley, Serena Butch
Schoharie County	
Cobleskill	Ruth Ashworth, Bruce Bidwell, Linda Bidwell, Devon Hedges, Melody Neary, Gerald Peters, Janice Peters
Middleburgh	Vicki DeGroff, Steve LaMont, Anne LaMont, Teresa Pavoldi, Diane Stewart
Schoharie	Michele Borst, Kim Graff, Deb Paden, Arlene Price, Laura Rosenthal, Erika Schmid, Peter Schmid
Sharon Springs	Pamela Crandall-Luby, Michael Luby, Ginny Wilday

The fifty-fifth annual meeting of the Mohawk Valley Library System was held at the River Stone Manor in Glenville.

Eric Trahan, Executive Director, welcomed all and introduced Julia Caro, representing Senator Cecilia Tkaczyk's office, Assemblyman Phil Steck, Assemblyman Anthony Santabarbara, and Tatiana Boba, representing Assemblyman Peter Lopez's office.

Eric welcomed special guests Carol Clingan, past Executive Director, Terri Flower, MVLS retiree, and the Outreach Advisory Council members Barry Finley, Marion Grimes, and Donna Kuhner.

Eric introduced the members of the Mohawk Valley Library System Board, MVLS staff and the Joint Automation Project staff.

Barbara Madonna acknowledged member library directors from each library.

Eric introduced Ron Barrows of The Barrows Group who is guiding the formation of The Foundation For Mohawk Valley Libraries. Eric presented the Foundation importance, needs, and services designed for the benefit of member libraries and the system.

Business Meeting:

MVLS Board President Cheryl Cufari called the annual meeting to order at 7:25 p.m.

She stated that 11 libraries were in attendance and recognized their trustees. She thanked the state Senators and Assemblyman for their outspoken advocacy to restore \$5 million in state aid for libraries.

Cheryl noted copies of the 2013 MVLS Annual Report were on tables. The report highlights the activities of the past year, including statistics from each of the member libraries. An online version is posted on the MVLS website.

Cheryl called for the report of the Nominating Committee:

Bonnie Kerr, Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the nomination for the following seat on the MVLS Board:

Deborah Peters, representing Schenectady County

Cheryl asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, she stated the minutes will reflect a single ballot for the slate.

Cheryl Cufari presented a staff recognition award to Kathy Insero for 15 years of service and Sharon O'Brien for 10 years of service.

Cheryl recognized Marion Grimes, Chair of the Awards Committee, to introduce the annual MVLS Awards. Marion thanked Patty Franco and Bonnie Kerr for their work on this year's awards and thanked those who submitted nominations. Marion spoke of how wonderful it felt to also be a recipient of this award. She stated there are great people doing great things at all of the libraries. She introduced Gerald Peters who read the winning nomination for the 2014 Harold and Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award.

Minutes May 21, 2014

Marion presented Linda and Bruce Bidwell with a framed certificate. The Community Library, Cobleskill received \$200 in their honor. Cheryl Cufari presented certificates from Senator Hugh Farley. Certificates were presented by Assemblyman Anthony Santabarbara and Tatiana Boba on behalf of Assemblyman Peter Lopez.

Marion Grimes presented her special award to the Fort Hunter Free Library to honor Martha Griffin and her new preschool story hour. Norma Jean Bennett accepted the award.

Marion Grimes introduced Bonnie Kerr to present the 2014 Library Recognition Award to The Community Library, Cobleskill for their *Battle of the Books* program. Devon Hedges, Director, described the program and the partnership it started with the school and students. He noted Lisa Breitbach began the program four years ago. Devon accepted the award on behalf of the library. The library was awarded \$500, a framed certificate and certificates from Senator Hugh Farley, Assemblyman Anthony Santabarbara, and Assemblyman Peter Lopez.

Cheryl congratulated the 2014 award winners on behalf of the MVLS Board of Trustees.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

The evening ended with the ninth annual Library Trivia contest hosted by Sue Rokos and assisted by Val Catlin and Lois Gordon. Winners received coupons for books by answering book trivia questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Insero, Recorder