MOHAWK VALLEY LIBRARY SYSTEM ANNUAL MEETING

River Stone Manor Glenville, New York **May 11, 2016**

MVLS Trustees: Sarah Beekman, Jane Borrelli, Anthony Gaddy, Marion Grimes, Bonnie Kerr,

Barbara Madonna, Mary Salluzzzo

MVLS Staff: Lois Gordon, Kathy Insero, Sharon O'Brien, Sally Rappa, Sue Rokos, Joe

Sherry, Eric Trahan

Joint Automation Staff: Mary Hanley, Michele Largeteau, Diane Robinson

Guests: Carol Clingan, Nicole Parisi, (representing Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara)

Library Trustees, Library Directors and Staff, and Friends

Fulton County

Gloversville John Blackmon, Sunday Blackmon, Linda Callahan, Linda Conroy, Sonny

Duross, Sally Fancher, Lance Gunderson, Nicole Hauser, Bonnie Howard, Circe

Johnson, Barbara Madonna, Shari Peto

Northville Michael Burnett, Diane Dillenbeck, Terry Frank, Marge Ludwig, Shannon Robare

Montgomery County

Amsterdam David DeFazio, Maureen Hand, Sue Kazilas, John Naple

Canajoharie Hanna Ahrens, Charles Tallent

Fort Hunter Eric Kass, Berverly Osborne, Cindy Rivera, Sue Summerfield

Fort Plain Paige Young

Fonda Linda Bell, Brenda Darling, Sherri Kirschman, Debby Young

<u>Schenectady County</u> Karen Bradley, Serena Butch, Cheryl Cufari

Schoharie County

Cobleskill Harriet Berard, Nick Berard

Middleburgh Rebecca Cherizard, Vicki DeGroff, Anne LaMont, Sonny Ochs, Terry Pavoldi,

Bobbi Ryan, Diane Stewart

Schoharie Michele Borst, Pat Clancy, Michelle Haverly, Alyson Montione

Sharon Springs Jeanne Irwin, Lora Newell

The fifty-seventh annual meeting of the Mohawk Valley Library System was held at the River Stone Manor in Glenville.

Eric Trahan, Executive Director, welcomed all and introduced Carol Clingan, retired MVLS Director, and Nicole Parisi, representing Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara.

Eric welcomed special guests Sarah Beekman and Marion Grimes, members of the Outreach Advisory Council.

Eric introduced the members of the Mohawk Valley Library System Board, MVLS staff and the Joint Automation Project staff.

Michael Burnett acknowledged member library directors from each library.

Eric provided information on upcoming events:

- Foundation Golf Tournaments on June 20, 2016 and August 6, 2016
- Upcoming workshops
 - Library Staff Safety De-escalation strategies May 19, 2016
 - Foundation Annual Meeting June 7, 2016
 - o Customer Service June 23, 2016

Eric introduced Elaine Angelo from ProKnowledge for a presentation of Excellent Library Customer Service – One key to sustainable library funding. Elaine is presenting the Customer Service Workshop on June 23, 2016 at The Community Library in Cobleskill.

Eric introduced Don Reisinger of D2 Media. Don presented Build Community Support By Engaging Your Community. Don is also assisting MVLS with the Plan of Service focus groups and survey.

Business Meeting:

MVLS Board President Sarah Beekman called the annual meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

She stated that 11 libraries were in attendance and recognized their trustees. She thanked the state Senators and Assemblyman for their outspoken advocacy to increase state aid for libraries.

Sarah noted copies of the 2015 MVLS Annual Report were on tables. The report highlights the activities of the past year, including statistics from each of the member libraries and the MVLS Treasurer's Report. An online version is posted on the MVLS website.

Sarah called for the report of the Nominating Committee:

Bonnie Kerr, Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the nominations for the following seats on the MVLS Board:

Mary Salluzzo, representing Fulton County
Keith Seeber, representing Montgomery County
Patricia Franco, representing Fulton County to fill a four-year term that will expire in 2020

Sarah asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, she stated the minutes will reflect a single ballot for the slate.

Eric reviewed the Foundation for Mohawk Valley Libraries history and purpose, and explained Foundation Trustee elections. He presented the following from the Foundation Nominating Committee:

Motion: To approve Fran Apollo to fill a 3-year term to expire at the Foundation Annual Meeting in

June 2019.

Kerr/Grimes. Ayes - All. Nays - None.

Sarah Beekman noted a staff recognition award to Sue Rokos for her 25 years of service. Sue received a citation from Senator Hugh Farley.

Sarah recognized Bonnie Kerr, Chair of the Awards Committee, to introduce the annual MVLS Awards. Bonnie thanked the Committee for their work on this year's awards and thanked those who submitted nominations. She introduced Marion Grimes who stated the history for the 2016 Harold and Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award.

Marion introduced Michael Burnett, Director of the Northville Public Library who highlighted the Northville Public Library Volunteers for assisting the library with 80 volunteers and the many amazing accomplishments that they have had for the past 30 years. To date, over 110 volunteers work the circulation desk. Michael was presented with a framed certificate to honor the library volunteers with the 2016 Harold and Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award. The Northville Public Library received \$200 in their honor. Citations from Senator Hugh Farley, Senator George Amedore, Assemblyman Peter Lopez, and Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara were presented.

Bonnie Kerr presented the 2016 Library Recognition Award to the Amsterdam Free Library for their *Amsterdam Reads* program. John Naple, President of the Board, described the program and accepted the award on behalf of the library. The library was awarded \$500, a framed certificate and citations from Senator Hugh Farley, Senator George Amedore, Assemblyman Peter Lopez and Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara.

Sarah congratulated the 2016 award winners on behalf of the MVLS Board of Trustees.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

The evening ended with the eleventh annual Library Trivia contest hosted by Michael Burnett and assisted by Sue Rokos and Sharon O'Brien. Winners received coupons for books by answering book trivia questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Insero, Recorder