MOHAWK VALLEY LIBRARY SYSTEM ANNUAL MEETING

River Stone Manor Glenville, New York **May 9, 2018**

MVLS Trustees: Jane Borrelli, Katherine Hawkins, Bonnie Kerr, Christina Knee, Barbara

Madonna, Joanne Mickle, Mary Salluzzzo, Eleanor Spencer

MVLS Staff: Wade Abbott, Lois Gordon, Kathy Insero, Sharon O'Brien, Sally Rappa,

Sue Rokos, Joe Sherry, Eric Trahan

Joint Automation Staff: Mary Hanley, Michele Largeteau, Diane Robinson

<u>Guests</u>: Outreach Advisory Council members - Sarah Beekman and Barry Finley

Senator George Amedore, Senator James Tedisco, Assemblywoman Mary Beth Walsh, Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara, Nicole Parisi, Carol Clingan,

Kathryn McCary

Library Trustees, Library Directors and Staff, and Friends

Fulton County

Gloversville Elizabeth Batchelor, John Blackmon, Sunday Blackmon, Linda Callahan,

Sally Fancher, Lance Gundersen, Barbara Madonna, Christine Pesses

Northville Jane Borrelli, Michael Burnett

Montgomery County

Canajoharie Amy Dievendorf, Ron Dievendorf, Susan Friedlander, Charles Tallent

Fort Hunter Eric Kass, Sue Summerfield

Fort Plain Paige Young

Fonda Linda Bell, Judy Kelly, Sherri Kirschman, Andrea Moran, Jenni Yeske

Schenectady County Karen Bradley, Teresa Finley, Carmel Patrick, Felicia Spivey

Schoharie County

Cobleskill Harriet Berard, Devon Hedges, Ken Hotopp, Janet Sand

Middleburgh Deb Bechtold, Vicki DeGroff, Anne LaMont, Terry Pavoldi, Rebecca Young

Schoharie Cathy Caiazzo, Jody DeJong, Michelle Haverly, Deb Paden, Laura Rosenthal

Sharon Springs Sue Fink, Pam Crandall-Luby, Helen Thomas

The fifty-ninth annual meeting of the Mohawk Valley Library System was held at the River Stone Manor in Glenville.

Eric Trahan, Executive Director, welcomed all and introduced Assemblywoman Mary Beth Walsh, spokesperson for Assemblyman Marc Butler. Eric also welcomed Senator James Tedisco.

Eric welcomed special guests Sarah Beekman and Barry Finley, members of the Outreach Advisory Council.

Eric introduced the members of the Mohawk Valley Library System Board, MVLS staff and the Joint Automation Project staff.

Michael Burnett acknowledged member library directors from each library.

Eric introduced Wade Abbott, Community Engagement and Communications Specialist. Wade did a presentation of *stories.mvls.info*, a webpage designed to share stories from member libraries.

Business Meeting:

MVLS Board President Barbara Madonna called the annual meeting to order at 7:10 p.m. She stated that 11 libraries were in attendance and recognized their trustees. Barbara thanked all the member library trustees for their service, and thanked state Senators and Assemblypersons for their outspoken advocacy to increase state aid for libraries. Barbara noted state library aid received a \$1 million increase and library construction aid was increased by \$10 million to a total of \$34 million.

Barbara noted copies of the 2017 MVLS Annual Report were on tables. The report highlights the activities of the past year, including statistics from each of the member libraries and the MVLS Treasurer's Report. An online version is posted on the MVLS website.

Barbara reported for the Nominating Committee. She presented the nomination for the following seat on the MVLS Board:

Joanne Mickle, representing Montgomery County

Barbara asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, she stated the minutes will reflect a single ballot for the slate.

Eric Trahan presented the Foundation for Mohawk Valley Libraries nomination for William Leitch to be elected to a three year term.

Eric asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, he stated the minutes will reflect a single ballot for the slate.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:15 p.m.

Awards Presentation:

Barbara recognized Bonnie Kerr, Chair of the Awards Committee, to introduce the annual MVLS Awards. Bonnie thanked Committee members Tony Gaddy, Marion Grimes, Joanne Mickle, and Eleanor Spencer for their work on this year's awards and thanked those who submitted nominations.

Bonnie Kerr stated the history for the 2018 Harold and Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award.

Amy and Ron Dievendorf of the Canajoharie Library & Art Gallery was honored for their service to the library book sales and the organization of the used book holding room. Amy and Ron were presented with a framed certificate in honor of the 2018 Harold and Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award. The Canajoharie Library & Art Gallery received \$200 in their honor. Citations from Senator George Amedore, Senator James Tedisco, Assemblyman Marc Butler, and Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara were presented.

Bonnie Kerr presented the 2018 Library Recognition Award to Christine Pesses, President of the Gloversville Public Library Board for its Traveling Storytime Program. Barbara Madonna, Director and Sally Fancher, Youth Services Library Assistant, described the program and the many community connections that were endured. The library was awarded \$500, a framed certificate and citations from Senator George Amedore, Senator James Tedisco, and Assemblyman Marc Butler were presented.

Eric Trahan congratulated the 2018 award winners on behalf of the MVLS Board of Trustees.

The evening ended with the thirteenth annual Library Trivia contest hosted by Michael Burnett and assisted by Sue Rokos and Sharon O'Brien. Winners received coupons for books by answering book trivia questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy Insero, Recorder