Categorized | Awards

>NYLA Public Libraries Section Awards

>The Public Libraries Section of NYLA is accepting applications for the following awards:

The Conference Scholarship: This scholarship is awarded annually to encourage public librarians or students in library/information science schools to attend the NYLA Conference, and to participate in conference activities. The award includes: full registration costs; and up to $500.00 towards expenses and NYLA membership if required.

Applications should contain the following: why you wish to attend the conference; how you plan to integrate the experience into your work; how you plan to share your experience with your fellow professionals; and how the award will influence your professional goals. The winner is expected to assist with staffing at the PLS booth and to attend the full conference. Deadline for applications: Wednesday, June 4th.

The Post-MLS Award: This is a new award of $500.00 to help defray the costs of an accredited course or seminar for individuals already holding an MLS degree. The course must be work-related, and demonstrate value to your professional growth. Deadline for applications: Wednesday, June 4th.

PLS Award for Outstanding Public Library Building – Renovation: Starting this year, there will be two building awards – one for libraries serving a chartered population of less than 20,000; one for libraries serving a chartered population of more than 20,000. Each award will be for $1000.00.

In 2008, the awards will be given for outstanding building projects involving renovation of an existing building. (In 2009 awards will be given for new construction, with a two-year “window” on projects, which will allow for submission of construction projects completed this year.)

Criteria will include: innovative design and use of space for serving library users, accessibility, consideration given for health, safety, and environmental issues, ease of maintenance, adaptability to changing needs, energy efficiencies, evidence of engaging the community in the process, and the cost-benefit of the project. Deadline for applications: Thursday, June 12th.

2008 Best Practices Award: This year’s applications must focus on the best use of web technology to promote your library and its services. Details of the program, with appropriate links, should be submitted. All applications will be reviewed by the Awards Committee of the PLS Board. The winner will receive an award of $1000.00. Deadline for applications: Wednesday, June 4th.

All applications must be in electronic format. No paper applications will be accepted.

Applications for all awards should be sent to: Kevin J. Gallagher; Director; Middletown Thrall Library;

Comments are closed.

MVLS Board of Trustees Meeting

Mohawk Valley Library System
Board of Trustees Meeting

9:30 AM, Thursday, October 21, 2021
Board Documents


Library Recognition Award Recipient
Schoharie Free Library


Harold & Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award Recipient
Sharon Jordan, Schenectady County Public Library

Library Catalog

Support MVLS

Contact Us

Phone: 518-355-2010
Fax: 518-355-0674
Regular Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers

Blog Archive

Blog Categories