Categorized | Awards

>NYLA PLS Awards


The Public Library Section (PLS) of the New York Library Association (NYLA) is now accepting nominee applications for three award categories:

L. Marion Moshier/Asa Wynkoop Award for Distinguished Librarianship
This award honors a library director who has given outstanding service to a community of 7,500 population or less. (A professional degree is not a requirement). Nominees are judged on personal and professional growth, quality of library services provided, and initiative taken to reach underserved parts of the community. It is given by the PLS bi-annually. Nominations may be made by a library board member or by a library staff member. Each nomination must be accompanied by three (3) letters of support from the community. The award is a $1,000 check, a plaque for the library, and inclusion on a plaque to be placed in the NYLA offices. Attendance at the NYLA Annual Conference in Saratoga Springs in November 2011 is a requirement of acceptance. Complete details of the award can be found here.

Outstanding Public Library Building/Renovation Awards
Two building awards are given. One will be given to a project in a community serving of 20,000 population or less; the other to a community serving more than 20,000 population. Nominees are judged on innovative design and use of space for serving library users, accessibility, consideration given for health, safety and environmental issues, ease of maintenance, adaptability to changing needs, energy efficiencies, evidence of engaging the community in the process, and the cost benefit of the project. The renovation must have been completed between January 1st and December 31st 2010. Previous library winners are ineligible. Each award is a $1,000 check, and a plaque for each library. Attendance at the NYLA Annual Conference in Saratoga Springs in November 2011 is a requirement of acceptance. Complete details of the award can be found here.

Annual Conference Scholarship Award
Two awards are given to encourage public librarians now in the field or students in accredited library schools to participate in PLS or NYLA activities. An individual need not be a current member of PLS or NYLA to apply. Each award is for a maximum of $1,000 which includes full annual conference registration, travel to the conference and return, another conference-related expenses, as well as membership in NYLA and PLS if the selectee(s) is not already a member. The selectee(s) are expected to attend the annual conference including the awards ceremony. Additionally, the selectee(s) will be asked to help with staffing the PLS booth at the conference. Applications for the Annual Conference Scholarship Award are in the form of a letter from the applicant. Complete details of the award can be found here.

The deadline for all award nominations/applications is Thursday, June 30th, 2011. Send all application/nomination materials to James Keller, 310 Nanny Hagen Road, Thornwood, New York 10594. You may also send materials electronically to Please indicate the name of the award in your communications.

Comments are closed.

MVLS Board of Trustees Meeting

Mohawk Valley Library System
Board of Trustees Meeting

9:30 AM, Thursday, October 21, 2021
Board Documents


Library Recognition Award Recipient
Schoharie Free Library


Harold & Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award Recipient
Sharon Jordan, Schenectady County Public Library

Library Catalog

Support MVLS

Contact Us

Phone: 518-355-2010
Fax: 518-355-0674
Regular Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers

Blog Archive

Blog Categories