Categorized | Awards

NYLA Public Libraries Section Awards

The Public Library Section (PLS) of the New York Library Association (NYLA) is now accepting nominee applications for three award categories:

L. Marion Moshier/Asa Wynkoop Award for Distinguished Librarianship
This award honors a library director who has given outstanding service to a community of 7,500 population or less. (A professional degree is not a requirement). Nominees are judged on personal and professional growth, quality of library services provided, and initiative taken to reach underserved parts of the community. It is given by the PLS bi-annually. Nominations referencing the librarian’s full name and accomplishments may be received in the form of a 1-2 page letter. A diverse mix of recommendations from board members, friends groups, community leaders, colleagues and patrons are encouraged. The award is a $1,000 check and a plaque for the library.  Complete details of the award can be found here.

Public Library Building Awards – New Construction Only
Two building awards are given. One will be given to a project in a community serving of 20,000 population or less; the other to a community serving more than 20,000 population. The focus of the two awards is the impact that a construction project has had on the library’s ability to provide services to its community. Emphasis will be placed on projects that demonstrate cost effective solutions to space challenges as well as innovative usage of space and floor plans. The project must have been completed by December 31st 2012. Previous library winners are ineligible. Each award is a $1,000 check, and a plaque for each library. Note that only new construction projects are eligible; renovation/restoration projects can be nominated in 2014. Complete details of the award can be found here.

Annual Conference Scholarship Award
Two awards are given to encourage public librarians now in the field or students in accredited library schools to participate in PLS or NYLA activities. An individual need not be a current member of PLS or NYLA to apply. Each award is for a maximum of $1,000 which includes full annual conference registration, travel to the conference and return, another conference-related expenses, as well as membership in NYLA and PLS if the selectee(s) is not already a member. The selectee(s) are expected to attend the annual conference including the awards ceremony. Additionally, the selectee(s) will be asked to help with staffing the PLS booth at the conference. Applications for the Annual Conference Scholarship Award are in the form of a letter from the applicant. Complete details of the award can be found here.

The deadline for all award nominations/applications is June 28, 2013. Send all application/nomination materials to Please indicate the name of the award in your communications.

Comments are closed.

MVLS Board of Trustees Meeting

Mohawk Valley Library System
Board of Trustees Meeting

9:30 AM, Thursday, October 21, 2021
Board Documents


Library Recognition Award Recipient
Schoharie Free Library


Harold & Junice Wusterbarth Volunteer Service Award Recipient
Sharon Jordan, Schenectady County Public Library

Library Catalog

Support MVLS

Contact Us

Phone: 518-355-2010
Fax: 518-355-0674
Regular Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other subscribers

Blog Archive

Blog Categories